John Anderson, Paul Craft, Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters will be inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in October, according to an announcement made today by Pat Alger, chair of the organization’s Board of Directors.
The four new inductees will join the 192 existing members of the elite organization when they are officially inducted during the 44th Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony on Sunday, October 5th at the Music City Center.
“Here in Nashville where the music industry has always been built on a foundation of great songs written by legendary songwriters, each year only a few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” said Alger. “This year we are very pleased to welcome the class of 2014: Tom Douglas and Gretchen Peters in the songwriter category; Paul Craft in the veteran songwriter category and John Anderson as our songwriter/artist.”
Tom Douglas’ songwriter credits include “I Run To You” (Lady Antebellum) and “The House That Built Me” (Miranda Lambert). Gretchen Peters’ resume is known for “Independence Day” (Martina McBride) and “The Secret Of Life” (Faith Hill). Paul Craft is the tunesmith behind “Dropkick Me, Jesus” (Bobby Bare) and “Hank Williams, You Wrote My Life” (Moe Bandy). John Anderson popularized many of his own compositions, including “Swingin’” and “Seminole Wind.”
The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony is one of the music industry’s foremost events of the year. The evening features tributes and performances of the inductees’ songs by special guest artists. In recent years artists such as Garth Brooks, Jimmy Buffett, the Del McCoury Band, Emmylou Harris, Alan Jackson, Toby Keith, Barbara Mandrell, Michael McDonald, Ronnie Milsap, Blake Shelton, Marty Stuart, Taylor Swift, Steve Wariner, Gretchen Wilson and Trisha Yearwood have performed at or participated in the event. During the evening, NaSHOF’s sister organization, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI), presents its annual awards for the year’s Best Song, Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, as well as the Top 10 “Songs I Wish I Had Written,” as determined by their professional songwriters division.