The Country Music Hall of Fame held a press conference April 22, where the new inductees for 2014 were announced.

Hank Cockran is being inducted into the “Songwriting” category. His wife made a brief speech in which she expressed gratitude to the audience, the Country Music Association, and the Hall of  Fame.  She said that Hank would have loved to be there, and never in her dreams would she have imagined that she would be accepting the honor on his behalf.  Songwriter inductees are only added once every three years.  It’s one of three rotating categories, along with Non-Performer and Recording and/or Touring Musician. 

Mac Wiseman is inducted into the “Veterans Era” category.  Because he appeared in a wheelchair, Mac explained to the crowd that while he is in good health, he has been diagnosed with post-polio syndrome. He went on to say, “I find I’m at a loss for words to tell you how important this (induction) is to me.”

Ronnie Milsap is inducted into the “Modern Era” category.  Milsap spoke about his arrival in Nashville at the age of 30, and joked that if he had arrived in town sooner, that he could have had more success.

The 2014 inductees will be honored at a Medallion Ceremony to take place later this year.

Last year’s inductees included Kenny Rogers, Bobby Bare, and the late “Cowboy” Jack Clement.  The Country Music Hall of Fame launched in 1961 with the inaugural inductees Jimmie Rodgers, Fred Rose, and Hank Williams.