Ten years after Johnny Cash’s death, news of a previously unreleased album has brought joy to Cash fans.  Legacy Recordings  plans to release the album, entitled Out Among the Stars, on March 25, 2014. The album includes 12 full studio songs.  Among these songs are two duets with wife June Carter.

The album was recorded between 1981 and 1984 in Nashville, TN  at Columbia Studios and 1111 Sound Studios.  Billy Sherrill produced Out Among the Stars.

While going through his deceased parents’ things at their old estate,  John Carter Cash found the album.  While talking to the Associated Press, Cash said, “we were like, my goodness this is a beautiful record that nobody has ever heard. Johnny Cash is in the very prime of his voice for his lifetime. He’s pitch perfect..” about listening to Out Among the Stars for the first time.

Here’s the tracklisting.  Besides duets with June Carter Cash, Waylon Jennings is also on the album.

Johnny Cash – Out Among The Stars

1.    Out Among The Stars

2.    Baby Ride Easy – duet with June Carter Cash

3.    She Used To Love Me A Lot

4.    After All

5.    I’m Movin’ On – duet with Waylon Jennings

6.    If I Told You Who It Was

7.    Call Your Mother (written by Johnny Cash)

8.    I Drove Her Out Of My Mind

9.    Tennessee

10. Rock and Roll Shoes

11. Don’t You Think It’s Come Our Time – duet with June Carter Cash

12. I Came To Believe (written by Johnny Cash)